Prince Albert I Medals: prizewinners

Here are some of the great names that the Institute of Oceanography has recently awarded a Grand Medal…

science category

2023: Prof. Nils Chr. STENSETH
Professor of Ecology and Evolution at the University of Oslo (Norway) and Professor of Marine Biology at the University of Agder (Norway) At the University of Oslo

2023: Prof. Rashid Ussif SUMAILA
Canada Research Chair in Interdisciplinary Economics of Oceans and Fisheries
Professor Rashid Sumaila holds the Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Interdisciplinary Economics of Oceans and Fisheries.

2022 : Dr Henri WEIMERSKIRCH
Emeritus Research Director, CNRS

2021 : Prof. Carl FOLKE
Director of the Beijer Institute (Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences), Founder and Chairman of the Board of the Stockholm Resilience Center at Stockholm University

2020 : Prof. Louis LEGENDRE
Former Director of the Laboratoire d’Océanographie de Villefranche-sur-Mer (2001-2010), Professor Emeritus – Sorbonne University (Paris) and Université Laval (Québec), member of the Academy of Sciences of the Royal Society of Canada, member of the European Academy of Sciences, member of the Academia Europaea and foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences.

2019 : Prof. Lisa Ann LEVIN, Oceanographer, author and co-founder of the Deep-Ocean Stewardship Initiative (DOSI)

2018 : Prof. Eric KARSENTI, Emeritus research director at CNRS and EMBL, member of the Academy of Sciences and scientific director of the Tara Oceans expedition.

2017: Prof. John RAVEN, Emeritus Professor of Plant Science at the University of Dundee in Scotland. Honorary Life Member of the British Phycological Society, Fellow of the Royal Society.

2016: Prof. Daniel PAULY, Researcher Emeritus at the University of British Columbia’s Institute for Oceans and Fisheries, he is also the founder of the international database FishBase.

2015: Prof. Corinne LE QUÉRÉ, Professor of Climate Change Science and Policy at the University of East Anglia, and Director of the Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research.

Cérémonie Médailels
Daniel Pauly, 2016 prizewinner
Cérémonie des remises de la médaile Albert Ier

mediation category

2023: Dr Jean-Louis ÉTIENNE
Physician, explorer, writer

2022: Mrs Dona BERTARELLI
Philanthropist and sportswoman

2021 : Dr Enric Sala
National Geographic Explorer-in-Residence, founder of Pristine Seas

2020: Mr Laurent Ballesta
Marine biologist, Photographer, Author, Co-creator of Andromède Océanologie

2019 : Mr Ban KI-MOON,
former Secretary General of the United Nations, at the origin of the creation of the Sustainable Development Goal n° 14 on the Ocean. Secretary General of the United Nations from 2007 to 2016

2018 : Dame Ellen MacARTHUR, Former sailor and President of the Ellen MacArthur Foundation. 

2016 : Mr Eric ORSENNA, writer, author of some thirty books, and former cultural advisor to French President François Mitterrand.

2015 : Mr Leonardo DiCAPRIO, actor, president of the DiCaprio Foundation.

2014: Mrs Sandra BESSUDO, former member of the Government of Colombia as High Presidential Advisor for Environmental Management, Biodiversity, Water and Climate Change.

See also